Six female Members of Kakamega County Assembly have been elected to various committees as vice-Chairpersons, elevating them at the helm of leadership in committees.

MCAs transact business through committee’s proceedings and plenary sessions.

Also read:

The mid-term reconstitution of committees’ membership will see Women MCAs now at the center of decision making in various committees in the accomplishment of the Assembly mandates.

Kakamega County Assembly has 31 females MCAs, four having been elected while 27 are nominated by political parties.

The Standing Order No. 194 (2) provides the ground for reconstituting committee membership requiring a committee to serve for a period of three calendar years and constituted thereafter to serve the remainder of the County Assembly term.

On Sectoral Committees – Hon. Godliver Omondi (Kholera Ward, Mca) is the vice-chairperson, ICT, e-Government, Library and Communication committee, Hon. Sarah Watsula (nominated) is the vice-person, Environment, Natural Resource, Energy and Forestry committee, Hon. Helemina Ilanziva( Isukha North Ward,Mca) was re-elected vice-chairperson, Early Childhood Education and Vocational Training while Hon. Leyla Muhandale (Lumakanda Ward, Mca) was elected vice-chairperson Public Service and County Administration Committee.

On Oversight (Watchdog) committees – Hon. Auxillia Shiranda (nominated) was elected vice-chairperson Implementation and Monitoring Committee while Hon. Roselyne Katibi was re-elected vice-chairperson to the committee of Justice and Legal affairs.

We are committed to serving this great County through these committees to ensure that livelihoods are improved,” Hon. Katibi amid cheers from her colleagues.

Hon. Watsula is confident that they will use their positions in committees to influence decisions in the management of the county through legislation, representation and oversight.

Hon. Muhandale, applauded her female colleagues for being steadfast in competing with their male counterparts for positions in committees.

Kakamega County Assembly has 24 committees including 10 that oversight county ministries (sectoral), Speaker’s panel and House -keeping committees.


About Author

Leave A Reply