Majority Chief Whip

Hon. Dickson Ombayo – Majority Chief Whip

Hon. Dickson Ombayo was born on 14th April, 1952. Hon. Ombayo did his Certificate of Primary Education (C.P.E) in 1969 at Mabonde primary school before joining St. Mark’s High School Cherang’ani where he sat for his O – level in 1973 and attained Division 2. He later joined Chavakali High School for his A – level and did his East Africa Advanced Certificate in Education (E.A.A.C.E) in 1975 before joining Kagumo Teachers Training College and graduated as a P1 teacher in 1981.

He is a Senior Approved Teacher job Group M & served as the Chairperson of Committee on Education at Kakamega County Assembly (2017-2015) while serving as a Member of County Assembly (MCA) & also as a Teacher/Head teacher in various schools (2006-1976). As a teacher he also served as Kenya National Union of Teachers (KNUT) Treasurer of Lugari Branch.

Role of Chief Whips.
  • Assist floor debates
  • Ensure members’ attendance, count votes, generally communicate to members positions of their respective parties.



Hon. Gladys Omukongolo Malenya – Deputy Majority chief whip

Born on 4th November, 1970, Hon. Omukongolo attended Ibinda primary school before joining Khwisero secondary school where she was a head girl and head girl respectively.

She is a holder of Diploma in Human Resource Management from Kenya Institute of Management (KIM) and has served as chairperson at St. Teresa’s Polytechnic (2008) and Nominated MCA – 2017 – 2013.