Our History

This is the Second County Assembly since the inception of Devolution Governance in the year 2013. The Members (MCAs) were elected to office on 8th August 2017 in the 2nd General Election under the New Constitution. They were sworn in on 25th September 2017 at Assembly Chambers.
First Members of Kakamega County Assembly (MCAs) were elected to office on 17th March 2013, in the 1st General Election under the New Constitution 2010.

The MCAs were Sworn – in on 16th April 2013 at the Kakamega County Hall (current county headquarters), formerly the Kakamega Municipal Council Hall before the 1st Governor, H.E Wycliffe Ambetsa Oparanya and the County’s 1st Senator, Hon. Bonny Khalwale. The 1st sitting was the held on 22nd April 2013.

The Assembly’s first Leader of Majority was Hon. Reuben Nyangweso who served between April 2013 to January 2014, when he was replaced by Hon. Dennis Wekesa. The latter was in office for three months until April 2014 before being replaced by Hon. Abel Mutimba who held the office from April 2014 to July 2014. In May 2014, Hon. Robert Kundu Makhanu took over the Majority leadership until 8th August, 2017.

The first Minority Leader position was held by Hon. Stephen Ambulwa from April 2013 to January 2014 then later succeeded by Hon. Titus Marachi Kwomah to 8th August, 2017.

Elections in March 2013 marked the official launch of devolution, as 47 new County Governors were elected and 47 County Assemblies created. This formed the basis of setting up new institutions, as well as a new national Senate representing each county, a task that has proved to be challenging.

Kakamega County Assembly Chamber and offices are located at the former Kakamega County Council headquarters. There are annex offices at the Invest and Grow (IG) building to cater for the increasing number of employees.

General Information
Kakamega County Assembly consists of 87 Members, who include:
(1) Sixty (60) Ward Representatives, also known as Members of County Assembly (MCAs) each elected by the registered voters of the Wards, each Ward constituting a single member Constituency, on the same day as a general election of Members of Parliament, being the Second Tuesday in August, in every fifth year..

(2) Twenty seven (27) members are nominated from political parties according to their proportional representation in the County Assembly to represent special interests including; persons with disabilities who are two, minorities who are two and the youth who is one and gender as stipulated in Article 177 (2) and (3)

(3) Hon. Speaker elected from outside the House. He is an ex officio member.

(4) Clerk of the Assembly